The Malayan Council – 22 Dunlop Street

Hello friends,

I celebrated my birthday with the Ohana . Am I too old to use that term? Basically it means family. We went to a café called The Malayan Council at 22 Dunlop Street which opened over a year ago but I was not aware of its existence because I am not adventurous when it comes to discovering new places. However, I want to change that and will try to discover new places this year and write about them.

Moving on, the ambience of the café was very relax and quirky. It definitely has a hipster vibe but I have nothing against that because the food and service was excellent. From the moment we entered, the friendly owner politely showed us to our table, got to know our names and my mum just had to tell him it was my birthday. Thank you Mum! We got free cakes because of that.

Enough said, here is what we ordered,

Asam Pedas Fish and Chips, Pan Seared Salmon With Ravioli, Roti Kirai Beef Ribs, Latte, Fresh Coconut Cooler.

Coconut CoolerAsam Pedas Fish & ChipsAsam Pedas Fish & ChipsLattePan Seared Salmon with RavioliRoti Kirai Beef Ribs

Chicken Parmigiana, Malayan Wings, Wild Mushroom Truffle Soup, Mudcrab Salad, Smoked Duck Chili Padi Pasta,

Chicken ParmigianaMalayan WingsWild Mushroom SoupSmoked Ducked Chili Padi PastaMudcrab Salad

Classic Ondeh-Ondeh Cake and Durian Cake.

Ondeh-ondeh cake with Vanilla Ice Cream
Ondeh-ondeh cake with Vanilla Ice-cream
Durian Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream
Durian cake with Vanilla Ice-cream

The owner prepared a special surprise for me when we were about to leave. He asked us to go back to our seats as he brought up 2 cakes to celebrate my birthday. So technically it wasn’t much of a surprise. But even so, he asked everyone around us to sing me a birthday song. (Awkward much) I am so thankful for that.

At the end of the day, nothing beats celebrating your day by eating delicious food with your love ones. I felt truly blessed that day.

 

Be my friend,

Headless Editor

Leave a Reply

